Peace


Today is a day much like any other day
not particularly warm
not particularly cold
not particularly good
not particularly bad
Let me tell you I’m fine with that

And I’m not particularly good
not particularly flawed
not always happy
and not always sad
I’m just ordinary
Let me tell I’m fine with that

This life is not particularly fair
not particularly dark
it just is
People, not always kind not always cruel
they just are
Let me tell you I’m fine with that

Cause I’m done looking for extraordinary
and I’ve stopped expecting perfection
This moment
It just is
I have peace
Let me tell you I’m fine with that

2 thoughts on “Peace

  1. “Let me tell you I’m fine with that”

    This line says so much. I like the way it repeats throughout this poem. It brings emphasis and stitches it together neatly.

    Yes. I resonate with this poem. Thanks for drawing my attention to it,

    It was liberating for me to get to the point of wanting an “ordinary” existence. I’d spent so many years wanting so much. I suppose getting to that point came from a combination of becoming a mother, turning off television marketing’s influence on my thoughts and accumulated life experiences.

    And i still want an ordinary life. There’s much freedom in this. I can keep writing. As you must. 🙂
    Alice

Leave a Reply

