Land of Opportunity



Not too long ago
I lost a part of me
I don’t know how
And I don’t know why
I started out
As more than just me
I was a we
Part of a family
“We” are here
Friends, lover and more
We are a part of
This human family
But suddenly
I became a me
Happiness or doom
Failure or success
Health or lack there of
Even life and death
It all became
An individual endeavor
A personal pursuit
No longer a we
It was up to me
To sink or to swim
And to win or lose
Making choices
I, myself and me
Because this is
Land of opportunity
All for me
My health
My life
My things
My happiness
My guns
Every man
And every woman
All to themselves
Until their demise
Because this is
The land of success
And opportunity
This is where the we’s
Become a bunch of me’s

10 thoughts on “Land of Opportunity

  1. This made me weep silent tears. This is exactly on target. Our culture seem intent on breaking every we into individual me’s.

    I suppose there’s more economic growth possible if each person needs their own house and car and gun. (I like you putting “gun” in this list.) Very deep and astute.

  2. Reblogged this on Alice Keys and commented:
    This poem explores a basic problem in American culture: The myth of the individual. This dividing and fostering individuality is a key to our enslavement. I hope you’ll read Parmis’s poem.

  3. Parmis, I came back to read this to my husband then realized I wanted to share your poem more widely. I hope you don’t mind the re-blog. This is an astute observation of a basic American cultural bias we are trained into through public education. The false “individualism” of the “me” culture keeps us divided and conquered. Thanks for your poem. Alice

  4. How true your words are! And that’s why I don’t like a lot of modern society because of this “me” culture. Everything has become selfish, but at the same time if you don’t look out for yourself, you will sink in this dog-eat-dog world. Great and powerful poem that sends a reminder to us all!

    Glad to see you are back to blogging, Parmis! Peace and blessings to you : )

  5. Survival of the fittest, more like it. And even in my country it is gradually taking shape. The communal we feeling is getting dissipated to make way for the Me, myself and I culture. A great write, Parmis. Very deep and insightful.

    1. It is so sad to see the whole world going in the same direction. But I still think there is hope. There’se got to be since so many of us seem to want change. Thanks for reading and commenting Celestine, it always cheers me up to see your smiling face pop in my notification section 🙂 Have a great day

Leave a Reply

