Maggie the Black Dog



“Don’t bite me” she said
To this black dog
Her name was Maggie
Was she a retriever
Or a black lab?

Dining out that night
There sat Maggie
Her cupcake leash
Was tied to the door
A true bundle of joy

I learned later
When I asked the waiter
Maggie spoke not one
But five languages
She belong to the owner

I petted her head
She lifted her paw
put it in my hand
Followed by kisses
on the palm of my hand

Why can’t people
Be as nice as Maggie
“Look she’s so friendly”
My daughter still said
“Don’t bite my hand”

“Do you like dogs or cats?”
“Both,” she said
Giggling and laughing
But she refused
To pet little Maggie

3 thoughts on “Maggie the Black Dog

Leave a Reply

