Dress me in white


They dressed me white
to be baptized
a sign of purity
that was a must
They dressed me white
to be wed
a sign of virginity
that was a must
They dressed me in white
to be buried
a sign of innocence
to be allowed
through the pearly gates
Next time
dress me in color
red, brown and green
blue, yellow and tan
Dress me this way
and not that
For I am colorful
a woman of many
Don’t call me pure
Don’t call me a virgin
and don’t call me innocent
I am me
and proud to be that

One thought on “Dress me in white

Leave a Reply

