He was just nineteen


I’ll never forget
That crazy call night
Parts of it blurry
It’s haunting me tonight

Rapid response
19 year-old male
Multiple gunshot wounds
Head, chest, abdomen

Beeper goes off
Don’t forget your shoes
The clumsy student
That I was that night

We all scrubbed in
One after the next
All I was good for
Was hanging of the blood

Surgeons busy at work
From where I stood
They looked like butchers
Ripping through his gut

Spleen flying out
Next was a kidney
We were running out
Of O negative blood

And all I could think
Was that of his age
Younger than me
At only nineteen

4 thoughts on “He was just nineteen

Leave a Reply

