Liar, liar, pants on fire!


One of the commonly used futile questions that often makes me laugh is: “Are you a liar?” or “Are you lying?”
Anyone with even the most rudimentary knowledge of logic would know this question leads nowhere.
When asked of a truthful person: It is truthfully answered: “NO”
And when asked of a liar: It is untruthfully answered: “NO”!

May I propose, that instead of asking such questions, we just make a declaration when addressing suspected deceivers by simply saying “you sir/mam are a liar”! Or if in a hurry we may just opt for the abbreviated “Liar”, preferably at a raised voice for a more forceful delivery!

7 thoughts on “Liar, liar, pants on fire!

    1. Hi! I meant this as a sarcastic joke! In my experience those who question others honesty are often times self righteous and entitled know-it-alls. So I suggest to them to go ahead and say what is in their mind. Because I believe they don’t care about the answer, they just want to accuse!

    1. Initially I wanted to indulge in my cynic, that the truth can not be learned by asking. Like asking politicians, preachers, the kings and the rullers but even teachers and doctors in some cases. They don’t always tell you the truth and it is unlikely to learn what is a lie by merely asking. Then I opted to lighten it up by a childlike approach, “name calling”! My 4 year old has been a great model of honesty, keeping me on my toes.

Leave a Reply

