The impostor is me


You pulled me aside
That tired morning day
You were like a King
And I the peasant
You said I was fine
You said I was bright
I wanted to shout
Tell you to stop
Please don’t notice me
Do not praise me
Just let me be
There is an impostor
The impostor is me

I used to feel this way when I was praised by a mentor or anyone I admired. A therapist once told me this is called having the impostor syndrome. A conviction of one’s inadequacy and fear of being found out. I wonder if it is the opposite of the God complex and Narcissism. An interesting concept …

9 thoughts on “The impostor is me

    1. Thank you, it means so much to me that I am not alone in these feelings. I suppose there are more of us out there! Thanks for reading my work, I am really flattered 🙂

      1. Well good poetry takes a number of forms – one that I like is this sort of work that is short and very much to the point, like the Japanese Haiku, but in your case working with a theme with just enough repetition for it to echo itself. So thank you – I do not find many who feel alienated from themselves. In fact, I read of a writer (Jean Rhys) who after many years in the wilderness had a successful book – her neighbour went around accusing her of being an imposter (that was the exact word the fellow used about her). So you struck a chord there too..

    1. Thank you very much! It is interesting how alone one can feel before sharing these types of feelings. I feel a great deal better but getting my thoughts and feelings onto paper and knowing I am not alone. That I belong. Thank you for reading and commenting on my writing. It lifts my spirit

Leave a Reply

