The Way We Were


Hello, it is me
Don’t you remember?
Hello, it is me
Don’t you remember how we were?

The way we used to be
When we were in love
The way I loved you
The way I still do

Hello it is me
How could you have forgotten?
You said what we had was special
Have you forgotten?

It tares me to pieces
To look in your eyes
My reflection doesn’t seem
To light any sparks

Hello, it is me
Can’t you remember?
Hello, it is me
Try to remember

It tares me to pieces
To see you look away
The sight of me,
Does it bring any memories?

Please don’t
Don’t look at me that way
I cannot bear to see you
Looking passed me that way

I can tolerate your cruelty
I can take abuse
Whatever you do
Don’t make me feel used

Hello it is us
Please remember

4 thoughts on “The Way We Were

    1. Sad indeed, part of me was grieving my own lost relationships. But another part of me was writing about people face to face don’t see their loved ones at all. One painful example of it is the dementia and alzheimer’s patients that I am very familiar with. They look passed you through glassy eyes not remembering anything, spouse, siblings or even their own children …

      1. Yes, that’s so true! I was a caregiver to people with Alzheimer’s. It’s a deeply sad and heartbreaking experience. A person who can’t recognize their own child – one of the saddest things to witness.

Leave a Reply

